Sunday, December 20, 2020

A Clockwork Orange, The Blues Brothers, and Freedom Riders among 25 Titles Added to National Film Registry

Established by the National Film Preservation Act of 1988, the National Film Preservation Board is an advisory body for the Librarian of Congress. The Board helps shape national film preservation planning policy, and also recommends films for the National Film Registry.

Chosen for their cultural, historic, or aesthetic significance, the Board's 25 annual selections for 2020 cover a wide gamut of genres and time periods, from such early films as Bread and The Battle of the Century to such later works as A Clockwork Orange and Freedom Riders. The full list for 2020 is as follows:

Freedom Riders (2010)

The Dark Knight (2008)
The Hurt Locker (2008)
Mauna Kea: Temple Under Siege (2006)
Shreck (2001)

Buena Vista Social Club (1999)
The Devil Never Sleeps (1994)
The Joy Luck Club (1993)

Illusions (1982)
Losing Ground (1982)
The Blues Brothers (1980)

Grease (1978)
Wattstax (1973)
Sweet Sweetback's Baadasssss Song (1971)
A Clockwork Orange (1971)
Lilies of the Field (1963)

Outrage (1950)

Cabin in the Sky (1943)
With Car and Camera Around the World (1929)
The Battle of the Century (1927)

Bread (1918)
Kid Auto Races at Venice (1914)
Suspense (1913)
Further information on the Registry as well as the films themselves can be found on the Library of Congress' web site. All 800 films selected for the Registry since 1989 can also be browsed online. In addition, the public is encouraged to make nominations for next year's selections to the National Film Registry.